2023 champion crowned at thrilling SEAOIL Radical Challenge season finale at CIS

The SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines concluded the 2023 season in style at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) with plenty of on-track action up and down the grid. It had a debutant that gave the series regulars a run for their money, a rookie that stole the runner up position, and a reigning champion winning back-to-back titles last 24th to 25th of November.

As the year came to a close, the race-engineered SEAOIL Extreme-97 fuel with STP additives proved to be instrumental as it provided unmatched performance for all the Radical SR1s at every race. This was especially crucial for the 4th and final round of 2023 where the championship was on the line. What was a surprise though was that title contender Joaquin “Wakeen” Garrido missed the finale and spared his closest rival Iñigo Anton from a difficult title fight to the end. But in his absence, it allowed Miguel Quiñones and newcomer Matthew Edmunds to challenge Anton’s dominance and get a shot at a podium spot.

Pushing his #33 SR1 to its limits, Anton was strong off the gates by setting the best time during Qualifying with a 1:56.177 lap and claim pole position. Quiñones couldn’t quite match his pace and was 2.810 secs adrift, yet was still fast enough to earn the multiple-time karting champion a front row start.

With Garrido out for the last round, Quiñones capitalized on the opportunity to gain substantial points and move his way up the standings. The DRQ Motorsports driver gave chase to Anton during Race 1 on Saturday in an attempt to take the lead. But despite his best efforts, Anton didn’t crack under pressure and won with a 3.355 secs lead with Quiñones settling for 2nd place. Making an impressive debut with team R-Gas, Edmunds landed a podium finish on his very first race in 3rd place.

Race 2 later that day was another chance for Quiñones to get the jump on Anton. Much to his dismay, Anton never gave him an inch and pulled away with an even bigger gap to win by a triumphant 8.234 secs lead. Quiñones followed behind in 2nd with Edmunds once again in 3rd to complete the podium.

Every driver on the grid wanted to close the season on a high note and fought for every gap possible on the final day of racing. Race 3 would see Edmunds edge out Quiñones and take the chequered flag valiantly in 2nd place. The gentleman driver also set his best lap all weekend during the 12-lap race, demonstrating how much he’s pushing. Anton enjoyed another dominant lights-to-flag victory, while Quiñones this time finishing 3rd.

Even if Anton already secured more than enough points to claim the title, that didn’t stop him from putting the pedal to the metal in Race 4. He drove consistent, quick laps towards his 13th consecutive win this season to earn the title as 2023 SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines Champion in style. Quiñones also never gave up until the chequered flag dropped and finished 8.487 secs behind in 2nd, earning enough points to end his debut year with Radical as Vice Champion.

Class photo of the 2023 SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines.

“It’s good to be the back-to-back champion. Thank you to Radical Cars Philippines for a great year and a well-organized series,” commented newly-crowned 2023 champion Iñigo Anton. “I’d also like to thank Team MRD X Motul for being a top tier team with very skilled mechanics and race engineers. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without such a great team behind me. It was quite a chaotic weekend because I also had to jump in to a Formula V1 in between the races but I think it was good preparation for me for my upcoming F4 race.”

Edward Cruz, Head of B2C Segment Marketing for SEAOIL Philippines, Inc. shares his thoughts on another successful season, “On behalf of the whole SEAOIL organization, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to our partners Radical Cars Philippines and all the drivers and teams on the successful culmination of this thrilling 2023 SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines racing season. It has been a privilege to support the fastest racing series in the country, which showcased remarkable talent and passion for motorsport. We’re honored to have fueled these races and we look forward to the next season. We also wish the best to some of our outstanding racers who will also venture out onto the global stage. Mabuhay!”

Whilst the 2023 SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines may have just wrapped up, Filipino motorists can still power their vehicles with the same SEAOIL Extreme 97 fuel just like the Radical SR1 at SEAOIL stations nationwide. Good news as every gas up worth P200 gives customers a chance to win Lifetime FREE Gas as the grand prize. This exciting promo runs from November 15, 2023 to January 15, 2024. Learn more at seaoil.co/LFGPromo7.

The 2023 SEAOIL Radical Challenge Philippines is powered by race-engineered SEAOIL Extreme-97 fuel with STP additives, sponsored by Kumu, Kooler, and Porsche Design Manila.

Most Popular


More Articles Like This